Services for English Learners

The department of Curriculum oversees a variety of special services provided to students. Services include Title I/III, Two Way Immersion, English Learner services, and Migrant Education. They also prepare administrative work related to grants, the Consolidated Application, and reports required by the California Department of Education and the Office of Civil Rights. The department also is responsible for managing categorical funding, including Single Plan funds.

Contacts

Mary Anne Robb
Director of Elementary Curriculum, Intervention, and Assessments/Migrant Director
429-3410 ext 243
marobb@sccs.net
Beatriz Diaz Lead Account Tech 429-3410 ext 266 bdiaz@sccs.net
Jessica Murray
English Language Resource Teacher
jmurray@sccs.net
Elizabeth Lindsley English Language Resource Teacher elindsley@sccs.net
Patty Switzer School Community Coordinator
Migrant Education 
831-708-9488
patty@sccs.net
Alejandra Ruiz Home Based Instructional Tech 831-212-5715
aruiz@sccs.net
Lisa Storer
Cyber High Credit Recovery Teacher
lstorer@sccs.net

Title III

Title III of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act provides supplemental funding to school districts to implement language instruction educational programs designed to help English learners and immigrant students attain English language proficiency and meet the state’s academic and content standards.  The Title III Plan outlines how Santa Cruz City Schools intends to implement its Title III Program Improvement Year IV Plan for the Secondary District from 2011-13.  

Migrant Education Program

The general purpose of the Migrant Education Program (MEP) is to ensure that migrant children fully benefit from the same free public education provided to other children. A child is considered “migrant” if the parent or guardian is a migratory worker in the agricultural, dairy, lumber, or fishing industries and whose family has moved during the past three years. Eligibility is established through an interview conducted by a Migrant Education recruiter who visits the migrant worker's home and employment location.

To ensure that migratory children receive full and appropriate opportunities to meet the same challenging state academic content and achievement standards expected of all children, Santa Cruz City Schools has made available the following services:

Educational

Migrant Education Even Start (MEES) provides home-based instruction to pre-K students

Out of School Youth (OSY) receives information on basic nutrition, healthy lifestyle choices, proper dental care, and drug and alcohol awareness in order to help them make healthy lifestyle changes.

More Information

Copyright 2017 Santa Cruz City Schools